Paul Wunderlich Haus, Eberswalde

The building ensemble comprised of four compact, three to fourstorey blocks grouped around a shared interior courtyard, closes the gap in city planning left over from the war in the middle of the historical old town of Eberswalde, in proper scale and with great circumspection. In addition to the district administration and the headquarters of the county commissioner, it also houses businesses, service facilities and a small museum with works by Paul Wunderlich, after whom the project is named.

Client

Sprinkenhof AG, Hamburg

Completion and Certification

2007 / 2009

Gross Floor Area

22.218 m² (DGNB)

Location

Eberswalde

Tool used for LCC and LCA Calculation

LEGEP

The objective of achieving high quality in terms of design and energy efficiency at a low cost was implemented primarily by means of an optimum coordination of building form and insulation, intelligent daylight utilisation and thermal masses within the building. The drilled piles necessary for the foundation are equipped with absorber registers and, by means of a heat pump, are used for both heating in winter and cooling in summer. The ventilation system is equipped with a heat recovery system.

Innovative technologies, such as vacuum insulation panels (VIP) and phase change material (PCM), were also installed.

All of the specialist planners required for energy efficiency were included in the planning from an early stage onward. Simulations were carried out for the purpose of achieving an optimum building concept which goes beyond conventional planning efforts. As an EnOB project, extensive monitoring was carried out in the Paul-Wunderlich-Haus under the supervision of Brandenburg University of Technology Cottbus.

Paul Wunderlich Haus, Eberswalde

Gold DGNB Cerficate

Building Assessment: 89,5 %

  • Ecological Quality: 91,2 %
  • Economical Quality: 100,0 %
  • Socio-Cultural and Functional Quality: 87,4 %
  • Technical Quality: 84,6 %
  • Process Quality: 77,9 %

Location Assessment: 78,6 %

Text source: Brochure Assessment System for Sustainable Building – Administration Buildings, Federal Ministry of Transport, Building and Urban Development (BMVBS), Berlin, August 2011

Photo source: Presentation GAP, Berlin 2011

Paul Wunderlich Haus, Eberswalde

Das Gebäudeensemble aus vier kompakten, drei- bis viergeschossigen Blöcken, die um einen gemeinsamen Innenhof gruppiert sind, schließt maßstäblich und behutsam die städtebauliche Lücke, die der Krieg inmitten der historischen Altstadt von Eberswalde gerissen hat. Es beherbergt neben der Kreisverwaltung und dem Sitz des Landrates auch Handel, Dienstleistungseinrichtungen sowie ein kleines Museum mit Werken von Paul Wunderlich, dem Namensgeber des Projekts.

Bauherr

Sprinkenhof AG, Hamburg

Fertigstellungs- und Zertifizierungsjahr

2007 / 2009

Bruttogrundfläche

22.218 m² (DGNB)

Ort

Eberswalde

Angewendete Software für die LCC and LCA Berechnungen

LEGEP

Leuphana Universität, Lüneburg

Das Ziel, hohe gestalterische Qualität und Energieeffizienz bei geringen Kosten zu erreichen, wurde vorrangig durch optimale Abstimmung von Gebäudeform und -dämmung, intelligente Tageslichtnutzung und Speichermassen innerhalb des Gebäudes realisiert. Die gründungstechnisch notwendigen Bohrpfähle sind mit Absorberregistern belegt und werden durch eine Wärmepumpe gleichzeitig zur Beheizung im Winter und Kühlung im Sommer genutzt. Die Lüftungsanlage ist mit einer Wärmerückgewinnung ausgestattet. Daneben kamen auch innovative Technologien, wie Vakuumdämmung (VIP) und Latentwärmespeicher (PCM) zum Einsatz.

An der Planung waren schon zu einem frühen Zeitpunkt alle für die Energieeffizienz benötigten Fachplaner beteiligt. Für ein optimales Gebäudekonzept wurden Simulationen durchgeführt, die über den üblichen Planungsaufwand hinaus gehen. Als EnOB-Projekt wurde im Paul-Wunderlich-Haus ein umfangreiches Monitoring durchgeführt, das von der BTU Cottbus begleitet wurde.

Paul Wunderlich Haus, Eberswalde

DGNB Zertifikat in Gold

Objektbewertung: 89,5 %

  • Ökologische Qualität: 91,2 %
  • Ökonomische Qualität: 100,0 %
  • Soziokulturelle Funktionale Qualität: 87,4 %
  • Technische Qualität: 84,6 %
  • Prozessqualität: 77,9 %

Standortbewertung: 78,6 %

Textquelle: Broschüre Bewertungssystem Nachhaltiges Bauen – Büro und Verwaltung, Bundesministerium für Verkehr, Bau und Stadtentwicklung (BMVBS), Berlin, August 2011

Bilderquelle: Präsentation GAP, Berlin 2011